Canada’s 150th Anniversary

In honor of Canada’s 150th anniversary I am taking a look back into my two trips back to Newfoundland, Canada.

My dad was born in Newfoundland and I can trace my ancestry back there to the mid 1700s. I have a very special place in my heart for Canada, especially Newfoundland.

First Trip

My first trip took place in July of 2015. It was my graduation present for graduating with the BA. We spent 10 days there. We flew into St. John’s at night and stayed in a hotel near the airport. The next morning we rented a car. From St. John’s we headed to Clarenville.

Clarenville

In Clarenville, we visited my grandma’s brother-in-law and his family. We had such a blast. We visited the site where Random Passage was filmed. (Random Passage is a mini tv series based on the book of the same names by Bernice Morgan). The tour was a lot of fun, though windy. Fun fact: our tour guide was actually a student of my great uncles. We also visited the town of Trinity. We saw the memorial for the 1914 Newfoundland Sealing Disaster. We had a great little snack at a place on the water.

11147247_10204688952160022_390011952461607155_n

Heart’s Content and Winterton

After visiting family in Clarenville, we traveled to my grandma and grandpa’s hometowns of Heart’s Connect and Winterton. We stayed with my dad’s babysitter from when he lived there. They were so gracious. They made us fish and chips and I had ice in my glass that they picked off an iceberg!!!! While there we visited the cable station which is where the first Trans-Atlantic Cable was brought to in 1858. It traveled from England to Ireland to Newfoundland and then to New York. This cable station was where my grandfather worked. He was part of the last group of men to work there before it shut down in 1965. The place was awesome. We also met someone who was once a student of my great great aunts. We visited the lighthouse there and the local cemeteries to find our ancestors. We visited the Wooden Boat Museum. It was a lot of fun because 1. I say a picture of one of my relatives funeral and 2. a spinning wheel that my great grandma owned, which she gave to my grandpa who then donated it to the museum. After having a blast in my grandparent’s two hometowns we went back to St. John’s to stay with my grandma’s oldest brother daughter.

St. John’s

While in St. John’s we visited the Rooms, which is a museum which covers the history of Newfoundland. It is big and amazing! We also did a photography tour with Far East Photography. He took us to all the popular spots in St. John’s including: Cape Spear (the farthest point east you can go in North America before you hit Europe), Signal Hill, Jelly Bean Row, Queen’s Battery, and Quidi Vidi. While in St. John’s I also got Screeched In. This is a ceremony where you can become an honorary Newfoundlander. I did this at the old Masonic Lodge where they have a Screech Room. The place is called the Spirit of Newfoundland. This was fun, but I will not spoil the ceremony for you. We also visited downtown which was so much fun. I visited the Newfoundland Chocolate Company which is delicious. We visited some memorials and George St. George Street is the street with the most pubs on one street. We drove around a lot. Visited Ferryland and had the best fish and chips in Portugal Cove.

I was sad to leave this place and could not wait to return.

This is a link to my photography page and it has some photos from Newfoundland https://renierosephotography.wordpress.com/

11055321_10204688944759837_329093101269550831_n

 

Second Trip

This trip was for research for my MA thesis. We spent most of our time in St. John’s but did visit other places. We were able to make it back to Clarenville, Heart’s Content, and Winterton. One place we visited that I had not been previously to was Placentia.

Placentia

Placentia used to be the French capital in the 17th and 18th centuries. I went there to do more research. It was breathtaking. I loved every minute of it.

I also visited Memorial University of Newfoundland (MUN) for research.

While the second trip was not for leisure, I still had a blast.

So here is to you Canada on your 150th Anniversary.

P.S. Newfoundland was the last province to join Canada in 1949.

Leave a Reply

